Rachel1

March 27th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Rachel Adamus
Weight – 63-66 Kg (138-145 Pounds)
Record – 17 Wins 7 Losses 2 Draws
Team – VOS Gym

 
Where are you from ?
Amsterdam, Holland.

 

How long have you been training ?
For over 10 years off and on.

 

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
My Dad does it (still does!) and after I quit Judo he took me to Muay Thai

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have one!

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
The first time I put on my gloves.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Very, my mom get’s very nervous when I have to fight though.

 

What is your current record ?
I don’t know exactly haha, it’s around 26 fights, 2 draws and 7 losses.

 

What is your favorite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
Not telling!

rachel2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Mom and dad ?

 

What team do you train with ?
VOS Gym.

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Discipline in my life. It makes me feel good and healthy as well. There is no feeling like the feeling you have when you step in to the ring.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
Between 63 and 66 Kg

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have a lot of power.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Hmm, difficult! I guess Wan Kehan again in China.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Wan Kehan.

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Fight for your life!

rachel3

Who are you fighting next ?
Michaela Michl.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you look to exploit in your opponents game during this fight ?
Endurance and power.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
To put on hard fights to look at.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Me myself and I.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ramon Dekkers.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
With a build up, strong and a strong end.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
The feeling of fighting is such an awesome feeling. The preparation as well, you give up a lot to fight, it makes you feel different from everybody.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a personal trainer.

rachel5

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Finished my hotel schooling.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Me, my trainer and my loved ones.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
Just my music, nothing more.

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
Everything and nothing at the same time.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Andy Souwer.

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Work a bit more and relax and go out with my people.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
World title IRO.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges in Muay Thai are for women ?
We never get the same acknowledgement for a fight.

rachel7

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Keep going, you do this for you.

 

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
I hope a little bigger and nice hard and technical fights.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
With some more belts in my possession.

 

What are your goals within the sport ?
Keep fighting and set straight some losses.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Frans, Sam, Sharon, Sil and Andrew

rachel9

