donnie9

March 31st 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Donnie Ballou
Nickname – The Real Deal
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 1 Win 0 Losses
Team – Alliance MMA

 
Where are you from ?
I am born and raised in Cincinnati, OH.

 

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training MMA since 2010.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I’ve been a wrestler since the 7th grade, that is what drove me to explore the world of MMA.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I always said I’d let the fans decide my nickname. In 2016 a close friend said I was “the real deal” it stuck ever sense.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After getting my hand raised for the first time after my third fight. From that moment on I was hooked.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes, like any mother though, my mom had to get use to seeing me get hit.

 

What is your current record ?
1-0 professional.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Simple yet effective, a jab is my favorite strike.

donnie8

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My two year old daughter is the inspiration behind everything I do.

 

What team do you train with ?
Alliance MMA in Milford, OH

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to punish my opponent using my solid wrestling experience on the ground.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a pro fighter means I’m living a dream of mine. Something I can take pride in when I tell people, all because of the hard work and countless training hours I put in year round. It takes a special kind of hard nosed person to do this sport, im proud to say I’m a different people.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
125lbs.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I know that I can out wrestle anyone put in front of me. My wrestling can control a fight.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
It would have to be Randy Couture. He’s by far my favorite in history and favorite wrestlers of all time. To share the cage with someone like that is a dream in itself.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Corey Meeks is a professional 135lb undefeated fighter.

donnie5

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I want to hurt the guy standing across from me. He wants to do the same thing so I have to beat him to it.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
TBD.

 

What holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
No matter who it is I feel my wrestling will always expose them.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Strike off MMA.

Date and time of your next fight ?
TBD.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
A relentless fighter, someone who was gritty and never gave up. A man who scratched and clawed his way to the top.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Shock the world”.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Making it into the top 5 in Ohio in the 125lb rankings.

donnie4

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My two best friends Jake West and Thomas Leppert. Always have helped me and pushed me anyway they could.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Connor McGregor is changing the sport. If he fights Floyd then MMA fighters will all want to be star driven like he is and want big money.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Ground guy with solid wrestling and sneaky submissions.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
The fact that I am 1-0 as a pro and knowing im still in control of my destiny in this sport drives me. I’m out to shock the world and I still have the opportunity to do that.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am absolutely terrified of the Ocean.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Fishing is my favorite hobby.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
Surround yourself with successful fighters, be open to fixing the flaws in your game.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d still be coaching high school wrestling.

donnie3

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Music always helps me get my mind right.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
My father was a big UFC fan, he passed away before I got into MMA. I always like to look up before the fight stars so I can feel him watching.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
The sport will keep spreading and keep growing. More promotions and more events.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In the midst of a successful pro career. A champion.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Weeding out the people who don’t take the sport seriously, make it harder for the people who don’t train or take it serious to actually get a fight.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Randy Couture is my favorite fighter of all time.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coach Brian Moell and teammate Eric Moell for taking me in and turning me into the fighter I am at Alliance MMA.

donnie7

