zeal7

 

April 4th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Zeal Robichaud
Nickname – Kesagatame
Weight – 245 Pounds
Record – 8 Wins 2 Losses
Team – Alligaince Gym

 

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Ferndale MI.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training Martial Arts my whole life MMA for about 3 years now.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA through my first gym my teacher there got me started.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nick name (Kesagatame) is a move I perform and often finish people with and i liked the way it sounded so it stuck.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew fighting was what you wanted to do ?
I knew I wanted to fight after 6 months of MMA training and i was throwing all my teammates i realized i could bring something different to MMA and i wanted to do that.

 

When you decided to compete in MMA what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
My family and friend’s are all behind me 100% I couldn’t ask for anything more.

 

What is your current record ?
My current record is 8-2 MMA and 1-0 Kickboxing.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
My favorite submission is my nickname I finish many people from there.

zeal5

Who has been your biggest inspiration in MMA ?
I would say my biggest inspiration to join MMA is my love for it and my daughter makes me want to continue and be great.

 
What team do you train with ?
I train with alligaince gym now.

 

 

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I prefer to take things to the ground grind them out make them feel pain.

 

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means being a warrior there’s nothing like it. Truly old times when you only have your word and your fist.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at Heavyweight(245 pounds).

 

What seperates you from the rest of the fighters in your division ?
I belive the thing that separates me from others in my weight class is my judo and most of all my heart I don’t give up.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
If I could have one dream fight it would have to be against Lyoto Machida in his prime he is one of my favorites.

 

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
I would say that my toughest fight so far is my fist loss I had early in my career against a good strong guy i believe i could have beat if i had more experience.

zeal4

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
I would say my mindset going into a fight is i will finish this man in the cage no matter what striking on the ground or otherwise.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I do not have an official opponent yet.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
On April 15th I will be defending my title for IFL promotion.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for my throws and submissions.

 

What is your favorite fight quote or motto ?
My motto is (just enough).

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
I would say my biggest accomplishment so far is my most recent win and my second title belt it was a tough fight and I did the training camp completely on my own.

 

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
defiantly my biggest influence is my father knowing he wants me to be great in my fighting.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Well I feel like the Gracie family has defiantly put their stamp of why every one needs JuJitsu and i would like to do the same with Judo.

zeal1

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would say my fighting style is laid back/counter mainly.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Making enough money to take care of my daughter keeps me motivated.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know about me is im a great guy not aggressive at all in life.

 

What do you like to do in your free time when you’re not in the gym training ?
When im not training in the gym I like to spend most of my time with my daughter.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters or those looking to break into the sport?
My best advice to give to young up and coming fighters is be as diverse as possible in your training learn everything you can take from all trades and see what works best for you.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never found MMA ?
If I didn’t get into fighting i would still be doing my judo forever.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I get mentally prepared for a fight by not worrying about what he can do to me but what damage I know i can cause and being confident in that.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I’m a little boring I don’t do anything special before a fight but try to stay ready like a warrior.

zeal2

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Well with McGregor about to fight Floyd I think it will be great for MMA and more people will watch and the sport will continue to flourish and make lots of money i only hope more for the fighters.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years I hope to be in the UFC working my way to the title.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I would say my favorite fighter is Lyoto Machida I love the way he fights.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to shout out to my good friends who helped me in my last fight, my girlfriend for being there every night, and my Father for never giving up on me.

 

To follow Zeal on his MMA journey and keep up to date with all his late breaking news click the link below to check out his fan page.
https://www.facebook.com/zealousfights/

zeal2

