jennifer1

April 10th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Jennifer Molloy
Nickname – Baby Wild Thing
Weight – 55kg (121 Pounds)
Record – 5 Wins 4 Losses 1 Draw
Team – Fight Club Gym

 
Where are you from ?
Dublin Ireland, Republic of Ireland.

 
How long have you been training ?
12 years.

 

How did you get into Kickboxing ?
My dad is the head instructor of Fight Club Gym.

 
Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I got my name from my dad because his nickname for fighting was the Wild Thing so he passed the name Baby Wild Thing to me .

 
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I don’t have a defining moment because as I was always in the gym since I was a baby ( I even have pictures of myself crawling around the gym floor )I didn’t need a moment fighting is in my blood !

 

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of kickboxing ?
Everyone in my life my family/family friends are all engaged in the sport in some aspect, so yes they were really supportive.

 
What is your current record ?
5 wins 4 losses 1 draw.

 

What is your favourite strike or combination to use in a fight ?
Superman punch and a roundhouse kick.

jennifer3
Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would have to be Barbara “The One” Delaney 7 time world champion one of Ireland’s most decorated fighter and my training partner ,because of how good she is and I always wanted to be as good a fighter as her and get many titles like she has.

 
What team do you train with ?
Fight club Gym Dublin Ireland.

 
What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I want to win, I want to be the best.

 
What weight do I fight at ?
55kg.

jennifer8

What separates you from other fighters ?
Everytime I’ve fought it has been for a title . I never got an easy fight I was always the underdog up against A class fighters but once I get into the ring they underestimate my skills.

 
If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would definitely have to be a kickboxing fight in the Olympics.

 
Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
All my fights have been tough from day one I was at the deep end as I was always fighting for title fights so they were all as tough as each other.

 
What is your mindset going into a fight ?
WIN !

jennifer5

Who are you fighting next ?
Anyone who is willing to fight me.

 
What weaknesses in your opponents game do you look to take advantage of when you step in the ring ?
Everything .

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being a champion at what I do best !

 

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My dad because of how much work and thought he puts into every single fighter that comes and how he always knows what the best move to make is.


How would you describe your fighting style ?
Aggressive and always changing.

 
What is something people might not know about you ?
Not everyone knows or realises that my dad is my coach.

 
What do I think you would be doing if you had never become a fighter ?
I don’t really know I’ve always been fighting .

 
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
My dad motivating me in the changing room.

jennifer6
What’s goes through your mind as you walk out to the ring ?
I can do this ! This is my fight ! That’s my title ! I’m going to win !

 
Who is my favourite fighter ?
Barbara Delaney.

 
When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to spend time with my friends and I love going on holidays.

 
What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my world title.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in kickboxing ?
For years women didn’t get the recognition they deserve but it is now changing.

 
What advice would you give to young female fighters ?
You can’t win every fight but you can learn from every fight that’s what makes you a better fighter.

 
Where do you see yourself in the next five years ?
Much more seasoned all rounded champion.

 
What are your goals within the sport ?
If the Olympics are on the cross hopefully aiming for that. If not pro fighter.

 
Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to say a big thank you to my dad and coach for always being my number one fan and for giving me every ounce of knowledge he has to help me be the best that I can and be a champion.

jennifer2

