April 12th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Barbara Delaney
Nickname – The One
Weight – 48-50kgs (105-110 Pounds)
Record – 38 Wins 3 Losses
Team – Fight Club Gym

 

 

Where are you from ?
Dublin, Ireland.

 

How long have you been training ?
20 years.

 

How did you get in to kickboxing ?
My sister’s boyfriend, Colm now my brother-in-law is an Instructor at Fight Club and I said I’d love to give it a go. So he brought me down.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is ‘The One’. When I first started, I joined with a few friends and my coach Ken picked me out as ‘the one’ who would make it!

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
When I had my first fight all my hard work paid off when I finished the fight and got the win. I just knew I wanted to keep doing it.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of kickboxing ?
Yes, very supportive.

 

What is your current record ?
41 fights 38 wins 3 losses.

 

What is your favorite strike, or combination to use in a fight ?
Left hook.

barbara2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach Ken Molloy. He is so good. He makes me want to be the best I can be.

 

What team do you train with ?
Fight Club Gym, Dublin.
What does being fighter mean to you ?
For me, it’s not just about being a fighter, it’s a way of life. As well as all the training it builds confidence and leads to a healthier lifestyle.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
48-50kg.

 

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My aggression and determination. I like to keep my opponents under pressure and don’t stop until the final bell.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
It’s not a who but what. I only have a European title in Low Kick. I’d like to compete for a world title in this discipline.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
The Andree Warbrick fight. It was for a Pro World Title over 10 rounds. I came up two weight divisions to take this fight. I barely made the bottom end of the weight, so she had about 2kgs weight on me and a HUGE height advantage. No matter what I threw at her, she just walked through, but I kept going. It was 10 tough rounds but all 3 judges gave me every round.

 
What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m completely focused on the fight and keep going over the fight plan in my head to make sure I’m prepared for whatever happens.

barbara3

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m semi-retired at the moment but I’m hoping to come back for one more fight.

 

what holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents game during a fight ?
I’m an aggressive style fighter and I don’t give my opponents a chance to settle. I try to keep them off balance.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being one of the best female fighters to come out of Ireland.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Ken. He goes above and beyond to make sure that I’m ready for every single fight. I wouldn’t be where I am without his help and support.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
I just love to fight.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I traveled extensively all over the world before I started fighting.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be out partying a lot!

 
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Ken is great at motivating me for a fight.

barbara4

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
I’m focused on the fight, I keep telling myself “this is my fight”, “this is my fight”. As I walk out, the crowd starts cheering me on and the adrenaline starts kicking in and suddenly I’m 6 ft 4 and bullet proof and I can do anything.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Where do I start, Manny pacquiao, Oscar De La Hoya, Ricky Hatton, Joe Calzaghe. I love all the greats…

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Relax.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning 7 world titles.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in combat sports ?
From my perspective I’ve been involved in some thrilling fights over the years but promoters would still have me on mid-bill cause I’m female. Simply Wild Promotions, which I’m part of and who promotes me, runs shows all the time, where I have top billed. We have also ran a female only show, “Night of the Knockouts” to try promote other female fighters like me. Getting the recognition that female fighters deserve is challenging but over the last few years, through promoters like Simply Wild Promotions things are slowly changing.

 
What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
The fight game has highs and lows. If you win you’re on a high but when you lose it’s tough. The trick is to go back to the gym and work on your mistakes and make yourself better.

 

Where do you see women’s combat sports in the next 5-10 years ?
It’s growing exponentially.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Coaching the next generation of world champions.

barbara5

What are your goals within the sport ?
At this point I’ve reached most of my goals, except that elusive Low Kick World Title!

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coach Ken and my training buddy and sparring partner Jenny Molloy! Love training with you.

Oh by the way, if there’s any promoters out there who want to put me on their show for a low kick world, feel free to get in touch!!!

barbara6

