romulo5

April 18th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Romulo Reis
Notable Accomplishments – 2x Pan American Champion
Team – Rilion Gracie Team

 

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Florianopolis/SC – Brazil.

 

How long have you been training Jiu Jitsu ?
I started training Brazilian Jiu Jitstu with Master Rilion Gracie in 1990.

 

How did you get into Jiu Jitsu ?
I was invited by some friends, my first class was awesome and I got addicted to it very fast.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a professor ?
When I was a blue belt and started participating in Jiu Jitsu competitions. I was an instructor, helping the classes at Master Rilion Gracie Academy in Florianopolis.

 

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete professionally in Jiu Jitsu ?
My family and friends always pushed me to follow my dream: to be a Jiu Jitsu competitor, professor and have my own academy.

 

What is your favorite submission ?
Choke.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My master Rilion Gracie.

 

What team do you train with ?
Rilion Gracie Team.

romulo6

What does being a professor mean to you ?
It’s a big responsibility. It’s a life style that request a lot of discipline and dedication.

 

Do you have students that compete in MMA and Jiu Jitsu ?
Yes, I have World Champion students and some of them also compete in MMA.

 

You are also a two time Pan American Champion, tell us about that experience.
It was a really good experience. I submitted all my opponents, even one famous guy from the UFC. That was a great feeling.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For my technique level.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I got second place on Master World’s Championship.

romulo1

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My master Rilion Gracie.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
The Gracie family because they had many competitors that proved Jiu Jitsu is the most efficient martial art.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to fight to submit the opponent.

romulo3

What drives or motivates you to step on the mats and compete ?
My family.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I like to surf and spend quality time with my family.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
You need to know self-defense techniques and have a good Jiu Jitsu foundation to make a difference on the future.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a professor ?
Professional surfer.

romulo7

Where do you see the sport of Jiu Jitsu in 5-10 years ?
More organized and professional. Giving more value for the competitors.

 

Who is your favorite Jiu Jitsu fighter ?
Roger Gracie.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my Master for all knowledge and opportunity, also to my family, special thanks to my 2 brothers, and all my students and partners of training.

romulo2

