mathew1

April 25th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Mathew Anderson
Nickname – The Kid
Record – 5 Wins 2 Losses
Weight – 135 Pounds
Team – Elevate Martial Arts Center

 

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Roy, WA.

 

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for a little over 4 years.

 

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was at my grandmas and the neighbor was like hey wanna come play UFC 2010? And I was like sure have no clue what that is but I’ll come play it. When I started playing it I was like this is awesome and a few months later I started training.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I started fighting when I was 14 years old, I was a kid, so that’s how I got the nickname “The Kid”.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
You know I really don’t know I guess I just knew.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes they where and I’m blessed that they are and still are.

 

What is your current record ?
I’m 5-2 according to tapology and ranked #4 in the PNW.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, Or combination to use in a fight ?
Left hook is my favorite strike, favorite submission has to be the calf crusher.

mathew2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I don’t know, really I wanna be like Connor McGregor but I wanna be better than him I wanna be the best.

 

What team do you train with ?
I train with EMAC – Elevate Martial Arts Center.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to stand and bang but if it goes to the ground I feel confident on the ground also.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Waking up going to work then going to the gym and grinding it out. All the blood, sweat, and tears all pay off when I step into that cage and that’s what it means to me.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 135lbs.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m young and still improving each and every day. I’m a lot more technical I believe and have a lot more experience with over 20+ fights.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Connor McGregor. Because he’s the money fight!

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Hands down my last fight against Marcus Mendoza man he was one tough fight.

mathew4

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Just stay relaxed and go and have some fun.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
One of the greatest!!

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Stay patient, stay hungry, it’s never too late to be great.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Defending my 135lb title belt and staying champion.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach Brad Pole we have a great relationship good and bad but at the end of the day I still love him as a person and as a coach.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Connor McGregor! He has changed MMA and now a lot of people watch it and enjoy it, he’s made a tremendous impact on the sport.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m well-rounded I would say my fighting style is more standup though.

 

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
Getting my hand raised at the end of the fight.

mathew

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a twin brother.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Play Xbox one or work on my race car.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
Well I’m a young fighter and I just wanna say don’t give up! When I first got into the sport I lost so many fight before getting a win and now look at me I’m a champion in 2 different promotions so stick with it and don’t give up!!

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Eating eating eating! After work instead of going to the gym I probably would be home playing Xbox or working on cars.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I like listening to music and just relax that’s how I prepare for a fight.

 

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I like to come out to a song that does not get me pumped but something funny or popular, for example one of my fights I came out to “it’s raining men”.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I see it in the same spot where it’s at now.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see my self as a professional and fighting for good promotions.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
More sponsorships people don’t realize that some fighters live off of sponsorships.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I got so many but I like watching Mighty Mouse Johnson.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
For sure I wanna thank all my teammates out at eMac I wanna thank my sponsors Vivid Fightwear for supporting me and taking care of me, I wanna thank defense soap for keeping me on the mats! And last but not least my brother for supporting me with C.P.G. Designs.
And shout out to ally fans and supporters! I love you guys!!

mathew3

