April 30th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – John Popi
Nickname – Big Poppa
Weight – 170 Pounds
Record – 8 Wins 2 Losses
Team – Bulldog Fight Team / Midwest Martial Arts

 

SFCL and The Fighting Monkeys MMA Madness present The National Amateur Spotlight.

 

Coming to us from Plymouth, Indiana, this is “Big Poppa” John Popi. John stands 5’7 and competes at 170lbs. Representing Bulldog Fight Team, out of Midwest Martial Arts, John holds an 8-2 MMA record. A wrestler originally, John made it to semi state in high school. John is currently ranked #1 at middleweight and #2 at light heavyweight for amateurs in Indiana by tapology.com.

john2

John got into martial arts because of his wrestling. “Travis Smith and Brandon Shelhart worked with my dad at the time (2011). They got to talking about me and my wrestling background from high school. They told my dad to have me come by Pedro Silva’s garage for MMA practice. I fell in love with the sport, right then and there”. John currently has no fights scheduled, but keep an eye out for his return.

 

Contributing Writer – Conrad “The Influence” Loucks

