tasha2

May 3rd 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Tasha Hewitt
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 3 Wins 0 Losses
Team – Marietta Combat Sports

 
Where are you from ?
Walker WV.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
2 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I’ve always wanted to try MMA. I saw where Dawghouse Promotions out of Parkersburg, WV was promoting a cage fight. I asked the promoter “how do I get on?” he said, “come train” So I did.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
My debut MMA fight was more or less a bucket list kind of thing. I won by unanimous decision. When the ref raised my hand for the victory I knew then this was what I was born to do.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to step in the cage and compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
My family has been very supportive. My husband and our 3 children are my biggest fans. Shane “my husband” is my backbone, without him I don’t know that training daily would be possible. My friends are also supportive and especially pumped when a fight is in the making, They never miss a show.

 

What is your current record ?
3-0.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Armbar.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My parents are my biggest inspiration. they’ve instilled in me work hard and never give up and with that you will be successful.

tasha3

What team do you train with ?
Marietta Combat Sports.

 

When you step into the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
Take it to the ground!!

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means to be humble, work hard and always give it 100%.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
125 pounds.

 

What do you think separates you from the other ladies in your division ?
My jiu-jitsu game. I train with a lot of strong and talented men and therefore have learned to become faster and stronger myself.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Aaahh, Joanna Jedrzejczyk.

 

Looking back at your 3 fights who has been your toughest opponent thus far?
Shelby Swain in my ammy debut fight.

 

What is your mindset heading into a fight ?
I’m completely zoned out and ready to go in for the “kill” GROUND AND POUND.

tasha4

Who are you fighting next ?
Joy Miller.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit or take advantage of when you step in the cage with her ?
She is not as aggressive, she is slower and has less stamina.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
TOC.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 15th at 5pm.

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
The tough Jiu-Jitsu girl who never gave up.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My children, I want to do the very best that I can. To instill in them what my parents have in me.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Rhonda Rousey.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Ground and Pound.

tasha6

What drives and motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My children. To prove to them that with hard work and consistency anything you want can become a reality.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a girly girl outside of the gym and can bake like Betty Crocker.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never walked into the gym and stated training ?
What I was before. Momming and being a wife.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for your fights ?
Training hard and staying focused.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage on fight night ?
I stretch, work some mits and take downs then say a prayer.

 

your backstage your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Ummm…”I’m going to break this b****” 😛.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Rhonda Rousey.

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Kayaking, camping and being with my family.

tasha5

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Receiving my blue belt and being undefeated.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
finding an opponent.

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
train hard and never back down never leave yourself with “what if”.

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see women’s MMA becoming more competitive.

 

Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
training at Marietta Combat Sports for my next big fight.

 

What are your goals what do you want to accomplish in MMA ?
I want to fight for a huge promotion, Invicta…UFC.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you to my husband, Shane and our 3 children, Addi, Aiden and Aubrey for always supporting me and loving me unconditionally. Thank you to my coaches, Josh Cole, Keith Smetana, David Bailey and Brandon Pierce for teaching me all that I know. Thank you to all of my team mates at Marietta Combat Sports, Ohio combat Sports, Piercing Cross fit and Elkins, Wv jiu-jitsu for working me hard and encouraging me along the way.

tasha7

