dianna1

May 4th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Dianna Karavas
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – Debut Fighter
Team – Notorious MMA / Terrific Gist

 

 
Where are you from ?
I’m from Greece born and raised but half Colombian as well.

 

How long have you been training ?
3 years.

 

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was 17 and my brothers best friend had me try on his gloves and strike and I have been in love ever since and always had it in the back of my head that I wanted to fight.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have a nickname a lot of people call me some but don’t want one wanna be known by my actual name.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After finishing school in Greece I decided to move to NY and try to pursue my dream to be a fighter I always followed MMA even when it wasn’t that popular.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Not really everyone thought I was crazy and that I was going thru a phase ..no one took me serious and everyone suggested I model instead I think that is what made me wanna do it even more.

 

What is your current record ?
I’m making my debut this Saturday at KOTC and have another fight lined up for june 23rd for XCC.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination ?
My favorite submission is the armbar and strike is the overhand.

dianna3

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach is…. Fiona Watson.

What team do you train with ?
Notorious MMA in East Rutherford and my striking with Terrific Gist.

 

Where do you like your fights to take place do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
It depends I feel comfy with both.

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
I’m a fighter inside and out, in life and in anything. I’ve fought for everything I have in life and fighting is my only option.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
145lbs but I want to move to 135lbs once I turn pro

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I believe im mentally and physically a lot stronger than a lot of girls out there.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
It’s not a dream fight I know it will happen one day if I get to climb to the top as fast as I imagine ,but it will be Amanda nunes.

 
What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Just trusting in my ability and my hard work and always learning something new no matter the outcome.

dianna4

What holes or weaknesses will you look to exploit in your opponents game ?
everyone is a different fighter so I couldn’t really tell you we all learn as we go.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
King of the cage.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
05/06/17

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Just a tough as chick who kicked ass and helped better the world lol.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach haha she is literally my mother my sister my best friend my coach she took me under her wing and saw the vision I had and makes sure every day im on the right track to success.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ronda Rousey

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Unpredictable.

 

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
A lot of things that have happened in my life motivate me to keep going even when I have no more fuel but I rather keep everything to my self I wanna be known other ways no feeling bad for me lol.

dianna5

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Never thought of that.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I just meditate and visualize things and relax then I go 0 to 100.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Not really.

 

Your backstage your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Just blank im an animal once I step in there I don’t even think about anything its business when I get in there.

 

Who is your favourite fighter ?
I like a lot of fighters but don’t have a favorite definitely like McGregor tho a little more than others

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Eat and train lol that’s my life I don’t do anything else im pretty boring.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I think Jiu Jitsu was a big part of my game and my mental growth I haven’t even been doing it long and won gold almost every time I stepped in there and I competed alot.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The weight cut I guess at least for me.

dianna7
Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I think its gonna be very big.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In some big MMA organization making money doing what I love.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I wanna thank my grandma she just passed a few weeks ago and she was the one that raised me and I am the person I am today cause of her so definitely appreciate her and hope I make her proud one day. And of course my coach Fiona Watson

dianna6

