jacob6

May 9th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Jacob Brown
Nickname – The Bull
Weight – 110 Pounds
Team – Art of Jiu Jitsu Academy

 

 
Where are you from ?
New York.

 

How old are you ?
14 Years old.

 

How long have you been training in Jiu Jitsu ?
Since 2009.

 

How did you get into Jiu Jitsu ?
I was introduced to Jiu Jitsu by my aunt, she is a police officer in New York N.J. She did Jiu Jitsu.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I got my nickname from my brother and my dad, it came from my zodiac sign Taurus. Taurus is a bull in the zodiac table.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After my first week training and first win at a competition.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of competitive Jiu Jitsu ?
Yes my three brothers, sisters, mom and dad supported me and still do.

 

What is your current record ?
😎 Not sure of record but I won a lot more than I lost. Only once did I not get a medal at a tournament in 2009.

jacob7

What is your favorite submission, or throw to use in a match ?
My favourite Jiu Jitsu sub is the Americana, arm lock, and Haragoshi judo throw.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My family keeps me inspired to do what I do.

 

What team do you train with ?
I train at Art of JuJitsu Academy AKA Mendes Bros AOJ.

 

When you step on the mats what is your game plan ?
I like to Judo take down my opponent then look for submission and points too.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means setting an example for other children and inspiring others to train BJJ. I was bullied, so maybe I can help by being a good example.

 

What weight do you compete at ?
I fight at 110Lbs.

 

What separates you from the other competitors in your division ?
What separates me from other fighters in my division is not much, I compete like the others, I stay humble and I care about my opponents, I also like meeting the other fighters.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
My dream fight would be against G.S.P.

jacob4

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
All my fights have been equally tough, most are Jiu Jitsu not MMA.

 

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
I am always nervous at a competition but focused on the win. The fight is all I care about when I’m there.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I never know who will be in the division untill at least one week before a tournament.

 
What promotions do you compete for ?
I fight for a few promotions. IBJJD, NAGA, NABJJF Grapplers Quest, SBJJF, Jiu Jitsu world league and more.

 

Date and time of your next competition ?
My next competition will be at the dream tournament June 2017.

 
What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
My dedication and commitment to the sport, I want to be known as an inspiration to many.

 
What is your favorite quote or motto ?
No excuses, if you like what you do you should do it often and become great.

 
What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
3x world championship and Sponsorships.

 

jacob2
Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Dad, Mom, friends at the gym and my coaches.

 
Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
My professors, the Mendes Bros at AOJ because they have a great style of Jiu Jitsu and they are multiple time Jiu Jitsu world champions.

 
How would you describe your fighting style ?
My Jiu Jitsu fight style is different from most because I am diverse, patient and have been trained in Judo, wrestling and Jiu Jitsu. I blend them together along with the aspect of competing to make my game better.

 
What drives or motivates you to step on the mats and compete ?
Learning new moves at the gym.

 
What is something people might not know about you ?
That I love to do other things like skateboarding, swimming and play some video games.

 
When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Relax and be with my friends.

 
What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
Don’t do combat sports if you don’t truly like it or don’t see yourself happy in the future. If you love it stay safe and keep others safe while sparring and competing but always train hard.

 
What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Not sure I never think about it.

jacob1
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I just always rely on my training.

 
Do you have rituals that get you ready to go to step on the mats ?
I don’t, I just focus hard and sit alone while watching other matches at the tournament.

 
Where do you see the sport of Jiu Jitsu in 5-10 years ?
Much better fighters, more women, and maybe get paid more.

 
Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
Very close to my black belt and maybe coaching little children and doing MMA.

 
Who is your favorite fighter ?
The Diaz brothers are my favourite fighters

 
Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank OOS, Kimonos they are my largest sponsors and shurfit mouth guards, Entero Health. And a special shout out to my professors Gui Mendes and Rafa Mendes, the members at the whole AOJ family. Super special thanks to my mom (Marva) and my dad (Joe). And also to you the Fighting Monkeys MMA Madness for doing this Article.

jacob3

