dequan2

May 11th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Dequan Townsend
Nickname – Tarantula
Weight – 170-185 Pounds
Record – 15 Wins 7 Losses
Team – Team Murciealago

 

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Lansing Michigan.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training and fighting for 8 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA by taking advantage of a cardio kickboxing class and a MMA instructor approached me.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Spectators gave me the name Tarantula because my fight style is similar to Anderson Silva.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
When I looked at some of the competition in my weight class.

 

When you decided to compete in MMA what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
They supported me although my mom was terrified.

 

What is your current record ?
15-7.

dequan4

Who are you fighting next ?
Timothy Woods.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you look to exploit in his game to walk out with the win ?
I don’t know much about him so I am going to look to feel him out and test him in all areas.

 

What Promotion will you be fighting for ?
I will be fighting for FSF on May 20th.

 

What is your favorite part of MMA ?
I like to bang.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My kids they keep me motivated.

 

What team do you train with ?
Team Murciealago.

 

When you step in the cage do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to stand.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
All my life I had to fight this is just putting it into a positive career.

dequan8

What weight do you fight at ?
170-185 pounds depending on opponent.

 

What separates you from other fighters in your weight class ?
My size and length.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Bobby Nash its nothing personal just unfinished business.

 

Out of your 22 fights who has been your toughest opponent ?
Jason Fischer it was a chess match.

 

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
If I don’t win my kids don’t eat.

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I would like to be remembered as a humble warrior.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“If you stay ready you don’t have to get ready”.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Biggest accomplishment so far I would have to say making it in to the top 10 on the Tapology rankings.

dequan7

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
Again my kids the make me wanna be the best I can be.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Connor McGregor he’s been doing the unknown in the UFC.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Striker.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am a nurse.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I am a big gambler.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
This fighting thing is not just a hobby its a commitment what you put into it is what you get out of it.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I have no clue.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Thinking about all the things ive been through in my life and my Mom and Son looking down on me.

dequan9

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage on fight night ?
I listen to music and pace.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Hopefully getting paid just as much as boxing !!

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years time ?
In the UFC with the title.

 
What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Stop being so damn political.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anderson Silva

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
All the people who has supported me and stuck by my side through this journey I thank you all.

dequan3

