May 14th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Montel Jackson
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 9 Wins 1 Loss
Titles Held – XFO Lightweight Championship, XFO Featherweight Championship
Team – Pura Vida BJJ & MMA

 

 

SFCL and The Fighting Monkeys MMA Madness present The National Amateur Spotlight.

 

Representing Pura Vida BJJ & MMA, this is Montel Jackson. Montel comes to us from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. At 5’10 and 145lbs, Montel holds a 9-1 MMA record. Montel is a high school state qualifier in wrestling and a national team member for Greco-Roman wrestling. A former XFO lightweight and featherweight champion, Montel is currently ranked #2 at lightweight in Wisconsin, #1 at lightweight and bantamweight in Illinois, #1 at bantamweight in Wisconsin, and #4 in the Midwest United States at bantamweight (out of 780 active bantamweights) by tapology.com.

 

Montel got into martial arts thru wrestling “The summer wrestling got dropped from the Olympics, I was planning on attending the Olympic training center in Northern Michigan. My friend, Devon Bankston, asked me to wrestle with him on Sundays, at Red Schafer MMA, for his upcoming fight against Raufeon Stots. I would continue to go on Sundays to roll around after his fight with Stots. I met a blue belt from 360 BJJ, named Gato, who would teach and give me pointers on grappling. Gato talked me into doing a BJJ tournament, which I won. I joined Red Schafer MMA, where I would meet my striking coaches, Solo Acosta and Scott Sievewright. After that I made the decision to stay in Milwaukee and pursue an MMA career”. That being said, combat sports runs in Montel’s blood. “My father, Torrance B. Jackson, was a pro kickboxer on the come up before he was killed”. Montel will be making the jump to professional June 24th, for Pure FC, as he faces off with John Akers.

 

Contributing Writer – Conrad “The Influence” Loucks 

