trever2

May 15th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Trever Alden
Nickname – T-Virus
Weight – 185 Pounds
Record – 11 Wins 10 Losses
Team – CheKo Taekwondo

 

 
Where are you from ?
Flint, Michigan Originally.

 

How long have you been training ?
Since the summer of 2011.

 
How did you get into MMA ?
It’s always been a bucket list of mine. I saw the first season of The Ultimate Fighter. I was home for the summer after playing a year of college football. My good friend Eddie Evans had been fighting and training and invited me to the gym to train as a way of staying in shape during the summer.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
“T-Virus” …. It honestly has nothing to do with resident evil. I started “rapping” in the 8th grade and my friends gave me as a nickname.

 
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I had been training for a while and had never fought. My brother got diagnosed with Osteosarcoma (soft tissue bone cancer) and it was a wakeup call for me.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
My family and friends are incredibly supportive. My dad has been to all but 3 of my fights. My mom won’t come watch it though. It scares her.

 

What is your current record ?
11-10.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Cut Kick as far as kicks and the submission I’ve had the most success with has been Arm Bar.

trever3

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Mentioned before, my brother was diagnosed with cancer. I often get asked why in the world do I cage fight? The answer is easy, the fight that happens in the cage is nothing compared to the fight that many people face on the outside of the cage. People fighting cancer, our military etc. They’re the true warriors. Not me.

 

What team do you train with ?
I train at CheKo Taekwondo in Bridgeport, MI. The fight teams out of that gym are Team Omega and Project Truth.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’d prefer to stand but opponents like to put me on my back. That’s why a majority of my wins are via submission.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Cage fighting has such a negative connotation to it. I respect and study the traditional martial arts seriously. Cage fighting is just a way to have a pay off.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
185lb.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Footwork and I’m incredibly smart as a fighter.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’d let Joe Frasier knock me out.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Grant Cashman was a 3 round battle. He was able to implement his game plan all of round 3 and I lost a close decision.

trever4

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
The worst thing that’s going to happen to me is I’m going to get knocked out. That mindset allows me to stay relaxed and not scared.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
After MMA is all said and done I still plan on pursuing my black belts in Taekwondo and Judo.

 
What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“If my brother can fight cancer and beat it, than there’s no reason why I can’t fight anybody inside of this cage”

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I’ve won the SSFL 205lb Championship as well as the UFL 205lb championship.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
I was told that I sucked at this sport and to quit by a former coach. It’s enough to keep me going to prove her wrong.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a huge WWE fan.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Wake up at 4am to work out. Work 8 -5. Practice til 10pm. So in my off time I’m usually relaxing and sleeping. I enjoy gaming when I get a chance.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
Figure out early what your long term goals are for this sport. If you want to be successful then you need to treat Martial Arts like a full time job. It takes 8-10 hour days training and working out to get to where you need to be.

trever5

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would still be working out.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I usually nap before my fight. Wake up, get my hands wrapped. It’s another day in the office for me. It’s up to me to flip the switch and turn into pyscho Trever.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I eat Mike n Ikes and I carry a little Buddha with me and rub it’s belly on my way to the cage.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I think the safety and long-term health concerns of fighters will take priority.

trever6

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I’m only 24 years old and still have a good 10 years left of me competing inside of the cage. If not, I wouldn’t mind coaching.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Better sportsmanship. I also wouldn’t mind seeing some of the shady creepy people get weeded out. I love MMA but some of these clowns give MMA a bad name.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anthony “Rumble” Johnson.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Huge shout out of my family and friends for supporting me. A huge shoutout to my coaches Tim Eschtruth and Mark Kanaar for believing me and opening the door to their gym to me. A huge shoutout to Carolyn Biskup Montney or w.e the hell her name is now a days for telling me to “Just quit and to give up on this sport because you suck, I’ve been around and I know what it takes to make it and you don’t have it” – Carolyn.
She was my former coach and she told me that. I am fighting her boyfriend May 20th. No better way to prove someone wrong right?

trever1

