chris1

May 16th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Chris Cameron
Nickname – Lights Out
Weight – 185 Pounds
Record – 21 Wins 13 Losses
Team – SFS / CMBJJ

 

 

Where are you ?
I’m from Alma Michigan.

 

How long have you been training ?
I have been training on and off for the last 9 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into because I saw a friend had a flyer for a cage fight and I had a lot of built up anger that I needed to let out.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I got my nickname from my first fight I knocked out my opponent in 1:30.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew that being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
My first fight that first time I knocked some one out cold.

 
When you decided to compete in MMA what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
They did not support me at first but I was on a 2 fight losing streak and I asked if they would come watch my possible last fight I was gonna quit if I lost 3 in a row after that they got hooked.

 

What is your current record ?
21-13.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in the cage ?
My favorite submission is the triangle my favorite strike is the over hand.

chris3

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would be my fiancée Carolyn.

 

What team do you train with ?
Train with a few teams SFS and CMBJJ.

 

When you step in the cage where do you look for the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I like to stand and go to the ground I am very well-rounded.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means being disciplined in the art and knowing when and when not to use it.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 185 pounds in the middleweight division.

 

What separates you from other fighters in your division ?
My height definitely separates me from 95% of the middleweight division not many others are above 6 feet.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
I’ve fought every one I want to fight but wouldn’t mind a rematch down the road vs the #1 middleweight in Michigan Shamir Garcia I fought him on 3 days notice An couldn’t make it into the 4th round.

 

Looking back on your 34 previous fights who do you think was your toughest opponent ?
My toughest fight to date would be Dean Caldwell out of stars N strikes.

chris5

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
My mindset is this guy wants to kill me so the kill or be killed mentality sets in.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being the best is what I want to be remembered for.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto when it comes to training and fighting ?
Train hard fight easy is my quote.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Earning 10 different belts has to be my biggest accomplishment even though they didn’t mean much back then they still meant something to me.

 

Who has had the biggest impact and influence on you and your career ?
I’ve had a lot of people influence my life in MMA Jody Bass, Bill Brown, Carolyn Biskup, James Grey, Tim Kitts, and the tons and tons of training partners.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is all over I’ve trained a little bit of everything.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My drive is my daughter I want her to look back in 10 years and be like that was my dad.

 

What is one fact people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know is I am a super shy kind of guy if ya seen me on the street you wouldn’t know I beat people up for fun.

chris6

What do you enjoy doing in your free time when you’re not training ?
When I’m not training I’m sleeping or eating or working training consumes my life at the moment.

 

What advice would you give to the next generation of young fighters ?
Advice for the younger crowd stick with it do what you love and don’t let any one say you can’t Because you can, I had zero MMA experience my first fight.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never started training or competing ?
I almost joined the Air Force but decided to give the fight game a try and I fell in love.

 

What gets you mentally prepared to step in the cage ?
Watching videos and war movies gets me in the mood to beat some one up.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see it finally catching up with the rest of the states Michigan is a ways behind.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself as a coach in the next five years, I don’t wanna fight till I’m brain dead.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make the sport better ?
People coming together can help move Michigan MMA forward.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
favorite fighter would be Anderson “The Spider” Silva.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank all the coaches that have helped me on my 7 year journey get to where I am today An all my training partners An family An friends couldn’t have done it with out them.

chris4

