carl1

May 20th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Carl Deaton
Nickname – The Anishinaabe Kid
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 12 Wins 2 Losses
Team – American Top Team HQ

 

 
Where are you from ?
Mt Pleasant MI.

 

How long have yo been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Just under 12 yrs.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
My first coach in MMA and long time friend/ mentor Jody Bass was coaching me for a grappling tournament and after a guy asked if I had fought as well, I hadn’t in the ring so I asked Jody his opinion and he said he believed in me to do great in fighting so I trained 3 more months with striking and took my first ammy scrap July 31st 2008 in Midland.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My uncle George blessed me my name after a weigh in’s in Clare.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter
I used to always watch boxing with my dad when I was younger but I’m from the country and that kind of sport wasn’t offered at the time nor did we have the funds and time for sports, but I knew at a young age, in the 1st grade I lived in Pontiac and was walking with my cousin Mitchel to school and had seen a scrap of like a 4 on 2 I’m sure to this day I remember being fascinated by it, it was combat and I’m thankful for that walk that day.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Yes, my dad and my brother and uncle Darryl (RIP) especially have been there since the beginning. All of my family loves it but from day one those men knew I wanted to be champion.

 

What is your current record ?
12-2.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Everything about my style is my favorite. It’s called shapeshifting.

carl2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Geronimo a Great War chief in his time and my people.

 

What team do you train with ?
American Top Team HQ.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Both in all honesty.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Across the board it means tough not everyone can throw down

 

What weight do you fight at ?
145lbs.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My take on the game, what I possess and what im gifted with shows and I can’t put that into words because I could write pages sometimes.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Ali in his prime.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Erik VO and Tim Lee (boxing).

carl5

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
The right one – I never tell.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
An Icon!

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“A non-medalist says tomorrow I will while a gold winner says today I did ”

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My record and last win.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My long time friend and brother RIP Jordan parsons.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
In the bigger picture it is Conor McGregor, he might be a UFC champion but he’s also doing super fights with Mayweather in boxing. Respect.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
Train!

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be a cop or barber.

carl6

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Living my life.

 

Do you have rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Bomb breakfast food in the Am.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Advancing, maybe different weight classes and more female weights.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Defending my strap and solidifying my name as one of the greats.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Money for the fighters or health care at the highest level.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
GGG,

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
FSF, my family and friends, ATT coaches and team, garden of life , iuncuff bail bonds agency, Alienware.

carl3

