austin6

May 30th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Austin Kurtz
Nickname – The Outlaw
Weight – 150-165 Pounds
Record – 1 Win 2 Losses
Team – Independent

 

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Mountain City Tennessee.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
A little over a year now.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I decided to not take after my parents and leave professional wrestling and started training in MMA. My friend Billy Combs helped me find Tim Loy.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
One night me and my cousin Justin where talking about how I act and he told me I’m more of an outlaw than anything and it stuck.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you decided that being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
I actually was in a lot of street fights and the last one I was in I destroyed the guy . So I made the choice to go to the cage so I wouldn’t end up in jail for my love of fighting.

 

When you decided to pursue a career in MMA where your family and friends supportive?
Yes actually my family was even though we are a professional wrestling family they are 100% supportive of my dream. They stand by me even my dear grandmother who is a nurse and is always warning me about the health risk.

 

What is your current record ?
My current record is 1-2.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
My favorite strike would have to be a standing back fist most people expect a spin, im not a fan of turning my back. My favorite submission has to be a Kimura.

austin2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my father. Every man is left with a choice after their child is born stay or leave my dad stayed and did the best he could along with my mother to raise me into a great man. No matter how hard things where for us I always had food and everything I needed.

 

What team do you train with ?
Right now my team consists of me,my brother, Chris Courtner, and my cousin, Justin Cox.

 

When you step in the cage where do you want the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I like to stand up and bang it out but if it goes to the ground I’m ok with that as well but there is nothing like a good slug fest.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means everything to me. It’s about my family honor. My Great Grandfather was a prize fighter that pretty much all I know about him but it’s enough to make me want to bring that history back to life today in my family.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I usually fight anywhere from 150 to 165 pounds.

 

What separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I have more heart than anyone out there. I never give up until I’m beaten. I honestly might just not know when to quit I’ve never been too good at just giving up.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight would have to be against Nate Diaz just because of his attitude And the way he fights. He’s a guy you can stand up with and throw hands all day.

 

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
I would say my first opponent Paul. Only time I’ve seen a second round so far, he knocked me out after I threw everything I had at him.

austin3

What is your mindset heading into fight night ?
My mindset is it’s kill or be killed . I want to be calm but have a concentrated rage to just blow through my opponent. No surrender or retreat.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Brian Duperry.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to take advantage of in your opponents game when you step in the cage ?
Lack of effort and experience. I plan on shutting down his stand up. I personally believe he doesn’t have the heart too keep going after I beat on him the way I beat on people.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Valor Fights.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
June 16th at 7:00pm.

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a good ole boy who came from nothing and had some of the best standing fights . I want to be known for my strong kicks as well.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote would have to be “the harder the grind the brighter the shine”

 
What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
My first win with it being only 50 seconds at 50/50 sports bar.

austin4

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Ken Droneburg he is my fight manager and has amped everything I do way up.

 

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA and why ?
Connor McGregor, he is blowing threw opponents like they are nothing the guy has freakishly amazing skills and everyone knows his name by now if they watch the sport.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is aggressive and constant pressure.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My family they are everything to me and I want to give back to the people who made me who I am. They will forever have my respect and dedication.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I can cook. I actually thoroughly enjoy it.

 

What do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
In my free time I like to be outside in the woods with my friends or at the lake fishing and swimming.

 

What is one piece of advice you would give to the next generation of fighters ?
Get into a gym street fighters lose. Never back down from any man. Hide all fears never let them see it in your eyes. Training is everything push yourself has hard as you can to make leaps an bounds in your progress and development.

AUSTIN7

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never found MMA ?
I’d be sitting around washing dishes wasting my athletic abilities.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I think of all the ways I can win and destroy my opponent. I hold in all my anger until the fight so when it’s time I’m nothing but concentrated rage. Meditation helps with this as well.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Yes I have my corner men tell me a bunch of lies about the guy and I just believe them as my reasoning for hurting him.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see it being a huge sport over taking a lot of other sport in popularity.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself as a champion with my family taken care of and all of my needs as well as theirs met.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Honestly it’s awesome the way it is . Only thing that will make it better is time.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Jon Jones.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my family, my sponsors, my manager Ken Droneburg , and what ever god is actually watching over us.

autsin1

 

To follow Austin and keep up to date with all his late breaking news click the link below

https://www.facebook.com/AustinTheOutlawKurtz/

