June 4th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Paul Shough
Nickname – The Superman
Weight – 255 Pounds
Record – 5 Wins 1 Loss
Titles Held – IT Fight Series Heavyweight Championship
Team – Scott Sheeley and the Iron Tigers

 

SFCL and The Fighting Monkeys MMA Madness present The National Amateur Spotlight.

 

Representing Scott Sheeley and the Iron Tigers, this is Paul “The Superman” Shough. Paul is 5-1 in MMA, on a 5 fight win streak, including capturing the IT Fight Series heavyweight title. Standing 6’3 and competing at 255lbs, Paul comes to us from Bellefontaine, Ohio.

paul2

A wrestler, Paul went 32-10 his senior year, falling short of states by one point. Paul is also ranked #2 at heavyweight in Ohio by tapology.com. Paul came to martial arts as an escape from depression. “I started fighting after one of the lowest points in my life. I lost my scholarship for football, due to a severe concussion injury and weeks later, after recovering, I broke my left hand. When I came back home, I slipped into a horrible depression. My weight got out of control. I got up to 360 pounds at my heaviest. I hated myself and who I became. So I finally snapped out of it, ordered Insanity, lost about 60 pounds in 3 months.

paul3

Scott had a promo going on at the gym and I received a coupon in the mail about 5 years ago, so I went in. For a year, I was the beating boy. I found out how tough I was and about a year in I made the most important friendship I have ever had. Payton Rose had dedicated just as much blood sweat and tears into me as I have myself. We’ve been grinding now for 4 years and the sky is the limit for us”. Watch Paul defend his title June 17th, against Lucas Kailing, in Columbus, Ohio.

paul1

Contributing Writer – Conrad “The Influence” Loucks 

