chelsea7

June 10th 2017

 

Fighter Profiile
Name – Chelsea Faulder
Nickname – Head Hunter
Weight – 115 Pounds
Record – 7 Wins 1 Loss
Team – Fightopia MMA

 

 

Where are you from ?
Rosewood Ohio.

 

How long have you been training ?
I started training when I was 18, I trained for about 6 months then moved out of state and started a family. I moved back to Ohio 4 years later and started training at Fightopia MMA. I have been training there for 3.5 years now.

 

How did you get in to Mixed Martial Arts ?
I got into MMA by looking up to my uncle that did Karate and seeing how much self control and confidence he gained by doing it and I wanted the same self control and confidence he had.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I’ve never really been into the nickname stuff but… It started out as head hunter because of my fighting style, my hunting back ground and it was the only thing that sounded okay with my name. Head Hunter didn’t stick, I tried to change it to The Unicorn which didn’t stick either. The only nickname that has kind of stuck is Cheldog, which I absolutely hate but it was given to me by my little girl and fiance.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
To be honest my whole entire life has molded me into being a fighter. I have went through a lot and I’ve always tried to find physical things to do to push myself to my metal and physical breaking point. I knew the first time I stepped into the cage I found what I wanted to do for the rest of my life!

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in MMA ?
My dad was super supportive! It took awhile for the rest of my family to be okay with it.

 

What is your current record ?
I am 7-1 as an ammy. 0-0 as a pro.

 

What is your favorite strike, Submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
My favorite strike is the one that lands on the button and makes their knees weak. My favorite submission is the one that makes them scream as they tapout.

chelsea5

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My daughter.

 

What team do you train with ?
Fightopia MMA.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to entertain people when I fight. I enjoy standing with my opponent but I also enjoy slamming them and inflicting as much pain as possible!

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It means being a role model for people to look up to. But most importantly it means changing the way society looks at us fighters.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
115lbs.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My mindset, heart and work ethic.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’ve never had a dream fight but with the recent events that just happened at the UFC retreat between Chris Cyborg and Angela Magana, I’d love to step in the cage with Magana to shut her mouth.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Aliebeth Milliron because it was my first fight back after a major injury and 2 major surgeries. I was struggling with a lot of mental and family issues at the time.

chelsea4

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I find it funny because I know whoever is stepping in the cage with me doesn’t have what I have. Win, lose or draw I know the crowd is going to enjoy watching my fight and I’m going to enjoy getting to be me in the cage.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I have an opponents name but I’m not able to release it yet.

 

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can take advantage of ?
She’s not me!

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’ll be fighting for a major origination but like my opponents name I’m not able to release this information yet.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
I’ll be able to release that later this week.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being an awesome role model for young girls and women to look up to!

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My head coach Johny Conner.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Dana White.

chelsea6

How would you describe your fighting style ?
100% VIOLENCE! Pun Intended.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What motivates me is when people don’t believe in me and people tell me I can’t do something.

 

What is one thing people might not know about you ?
People may not know that I really enjoy hunting!

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I volunteer and help out a lot at my daughters school. I really enjoy making an impact on the youth and think that if I wasn’t a full time fighter I would probably become some sort of coach or gym teacher.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Cutting Weight.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Right before I step in the cage I look at my daughter, give her a hug and a kiss and then I feel untouchable as I step in the cage.

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Excitement!

 

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Chris Cyborg.

chelsea3

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Spend time with my daughter and fiance, read, hunt and be outdoors.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Finishing Aliebeth (a very tough, game opponent) after having 2 major surgeries.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Staying classy, not being a sell out and respecting yourself.

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Always be yourself and follow your dreams!

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Just as popular if not more popular as men’s MMA.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In the top 5 of the best origination in the world.

 

What are your goals within the sport ?
To become the best in the world and to prove to everyone that as long as you work hard you can make your dreams come true!

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Uncle Jim for being an excellent role model for me. My dad Jeff Faulder for being my biggest fan. My very loyal corner-man Bob Moore. My strength and conditioning coach Mick Roberts. My wrestling coach Don Fink. All my teammates at Fightopia MMA. The Shore family!!! All my amazing sponsors Shore Chiropractic, 100% VIOLENCE, Fighter Alias, Weapons Fight Gear, Klutch and Westwater Productions. And most importantly my fiance and head coach Johny Conner for always having my best interest in mind, supporting me no matter what and making so many sacrifices for me to be able to make my dreams come true. Thank you everyone!

chelsea2

To follow Chelsea on her MMA journey click the link below to check out her fan page

https://www.facebook.com/chelseammaherring/

