matthew7

June 27th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Matthew Elliott
Nickname – The Momma’s boy
Weight – 125-145 Pounds
Amateur Record – 8 Wins 1 Loss
Team – Warrior Combat Academy

 

 

Where are you from ?
South Boardman Michigan.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
6 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
Watching it with my step dad and wrestling in school.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
The Momma’s Boy because I am one and my Mom dared me to for my first fight and it has stuck.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew MMA was the path you wanted to pursue ?
I was 14 in my Grandparents kitchen talking to them about doing MMA when I decided this was what I’m going to do.

 

When you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts what was the reaction of family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
Some yes, but others no. They didn’t understand why I would want to “hurt someone else” they just at the time didn’t understand that it was about challenging myself not hurting others.

 

What is your current record ?
8-1 Ammy pro debut coming up.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Liver kick and a Triangle choke.

matthew3

Who or what has been your biggest inspiration in MMA ?
Not so much a person that inspired me as much as the challenge of using my body and mind to their limits in tandem.

 

What team do you train with ?
I am actually self trained (lots of trial and error!) And I own Warrior Combat Academy in Traverse City.

 

When you step in the cage where do you like the fight to take place do you try to keep it standing or do you want to take it to the ground ?
I love fighting anywhere it takes place but you would be fair in saying that I lean towards the ground.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means that you work hard, think about your problems not just act on them and set an example for those upcoming.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 125,135 and occasionally 145.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters ?
What separates me is the obsession on the mental side I have notebook upon notebook filled with fight knowledge I call it a B.O.K. (Book Of Knowledge).

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
One day it would be Demetrious Johnson because he’s the most technically sound fighter in the world today.

 

If you had to pick one fight who would you say has been your toughest opponent and fight to date ?
My toughest fight was actually a wrestling match that I had my junior year of high school to make it into the state finals fighting is way less fatiguing than wrestling.

matthew4

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
I stay pretty relaxed and just look forward to it this is my mindset.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Aaron Reinhard for my pro debut.

 

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to take advantage of in his game plan when you step in the cage ?
I’m not I am as much focused on his weaknesses as I am my strengths but that’s for me to know and others to wonder.😉

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Fuel MMA.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 8th in Flint MI 8:00 maybe?

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your MMA career?
I would like to be remembered for technical and tactical excellence.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
I would say my biggest accomplishment so far is all of the up and coming fighters that I’ve been able to get on the right track with undefeated records.

matthew2

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My wrestling coach for sure. He instilled the mental processes for working hard that has got me to where I am today.

 

What do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I think there’s no question that without the Gracie Family we wouldn’t have MMA to the degree that we do now.

 

How would you describe your fighting style to a new fan ?
My fighting style definitely has wrestling roots but that just serves as a platform for me to know comfortably use the rest of my game.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My motivation just comes from the problem solving involved with the challenge of using your mind and body together to accomplish one of the most physically and mentally demanding tasks there are.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a sweet tooth for Cosmic Brownies.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
My free time is spent studying the sport as well as going on hikes with my dog.

 

What advice would yu give to the next generation of young fighters ?
I would tell young fighters to focus more on the mental aspect now instead of playing catchup later when their body starts to fall apart.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never set out on your MMA journey ?
If not fighting I would probably be wrestling in college and then finding a place to train so I could fight.

matthew5

What gets you mentally prepared to step in the cage ?
Mental preparation all comes down to just knowing you put the work in, visualization and meditation are essential. If you didn’t put the work in then you can worry about trying to trick yourself into being confident.

 

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to make that long walk to the cage on fight night ?
I pray that I’ll do my best and both fighters will stay reasonably safe.

 

Where do you see MMA heading as a sport in the next 5 years ?
Hopefully the general public becomes more informed in the next five years, looking for technical prowess rather than just being the drunk guy that says “hit ’em in the face!” Or “slam ’em!”

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In five years I will be fighting in the UFC working my way towards the 125 belt.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to improve the sport ?
I think if it was one long round rated than a bunch of shorter rounds as well as allowing knees to the head on the ground would bring the sport back to a more pure form.

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank Brandon Ames for always sticking with me as a wonderful training partner as well as all my family, friends and students at the academy for supporting me. Also a big thank you to Conrad Loucks for all of his help. Most importantly I’d like to thank God for my ability to have a chance doing this wonderful sport.

matthew6

