austins1

July 4th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Austin Strehle
Nickname- Baby Hulk
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 4 Wins 1 Loss
Team – Tooele Martial Arts Academy

 

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Utah.

 

How long have you been training in Mixed Martial Arts ?
I have been training for 12 years.

 

How did you get in to Mixed Martial Arts ?
I was physically bullied a lot since I was six. I started to get depressed I got so depressed that the idea of suicide started to come to my mind and then my family came to my mind so I finally put my foot down and started learning self-defense. After I defended myself for the first time, that feeling I got of adrenaline pumping through me made me hungry and ever since, I fell in love with MMA.

 

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have a specific nickname but if I had to choose it would be Baby Hulk, everyone through junior high and high-school still to this day always calls me Baby Hulk. I got the nickname because of how short I am (5’5″) but during wrestling season when I would wrestle in a match people would say I’d rag doll my opponent on the mat so they started calling me Baby Hulk.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
6 years old when a kid slammed my face into the window on the bus ride home from school. No one was sticking up for me so at that moment when I decided to become my own hero.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Mixed Martial Arts ?
Yeah the friends wanted nothing but discounts lol. And my family was/is very supportive they worry at times but they get by because they know I’m doing what I love, they know I’m happy.

 

What is your current record ?
4-1-0.

 

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Oh man there’s to many to choose from. Favorite sub would have to be straight knee knot entered from honey hole.

austins2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My uncle Brian brown, my father was never really in my life. So he did what my dad never tried to do, and that is raising a legend.

 

What team do you train with ?
Tooele Martial Arts Academy.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m the dictator of the fight so it goes where ever I feel is necessary to take it.

 

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means that I’ve been given an opportunity to prove there’s a higher power than just being the average man.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
135lbs (bantam weight division).

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m willing to give and show everything I got no matter the time no matter the place. Most fighters want to have at least a month of fight camp before they fight, I can be ready by that night. I stay at 90% year around now.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Demetrious Johnson. That man is not human he is a specimen from God knows where that was put on this earth to conquer and destroy but he does it in such a humble way. To me fighting a fighter like that is above and beyond the true aspect of fighting and I want to see what it feels like.

 

Who has been your toughest fight ?
Hector Garcia he’s young and still learning but we all are, that kid showed true heart fighting all the way till the last second.

austins3

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Kill… when I’m prepping for a fight I’m thinking that I’m the alpha in this case and they just put another alpha in my home so now I need to go in there and take him out. If I don’t take him out my family doesn’t get to eat.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Not sure at the moment been waiting for some one to take the fight.

 

What holes or weaknesses do you look to take advantage of in your opponents game when you step in the cage on fight night ?
Every fighter is different all I can say is that hard work beats talent and I’m not talent.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Steel Fist Fight Night.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a small town kid that never stopped chasing his dreams.

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Be like water”- Bruce Lee.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Taking the jump to become a full time fighter.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My mom and my coach Keith Azbury.

austins5

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
McGregor because he knows how to walk the walk and talk the talk.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Savage.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Everyone that talks about me cause just like Floyd said it best love me or hate you’re still gonna pay to watch me fight.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m low key sweetheart.

 

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
Spend my time with family, go outdoors shooting, hunting, and hiking stuff like that.

 

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters?
Jump that bridge the minute you get the chance too.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Professional hunter maybe, I’m not sure.

 

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
That’s classified..

austins6

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I pray to those that I love that have passed away.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I see no other sport being able to keep up with the whole industry MMA is taking over the world.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself fighting for bigger promotions with multiple belts.

 

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
The ignorance of majority of fights now a days.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I have to many, but my top three are Demetrious Johnson, Donald Cerrone, and Cody No Love.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yes I’d just like to say thank you to Steel Fist for letting me fight in their cage, my mom for always being there for me, my coaches and teammates at Tooele Martial Arts Academy.

austins7

