Bruce “Bearcatt” Duckett

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 17th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Bruce Duckett
Nickname – Bearcatt
Weight – 125 pounds
Pro Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Team – SSF Submission Academy

Where are you from ?
Born in Concord, NC

How long have you been training ?
Almost 4 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I helped a good friend of mine get ready for a few fights and the day of the fights everyone thought I was a fighter, so i got in the gym and boom i was a fighter.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
Well ive always been a fighter lol but in 2012 I found MMA and learned what a REAL fighter is.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I’m the BEARCATT!! Pro fighter and training partner Ken Thompson Jr gave me the name after he took my back and went for a slam at practice. I back flipped over him and landed on my feet. He said i was strong as a bear and always landed on my feet like a cat and started calling me Bearcatt. It stuck lol.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes my father is my manager and has never missed a fight, sometimes even helps corner me when needed. My wife, brothers, and mother make every fight possible but i will travel all over for a good fight!

What is your current record ?
Currently I am 0-0 pro and i finished my ammy career at 7-6 I have fought some of the toughest guys(ammy) in TN/KY.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Undeniably the spinning back fist!!! But since im gonna be fighting at the pro level ill get to use a spinning back elbow!!!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Biggest inspiration would have to be my family. My wife her kids, my parents, and my brothers and nephews are a damn good reason to fight and be the best.

What team do you currently train with ?
I fight for The World Famous SSF Submission Academy in Clarksville TN. My MMA Coaches are Ron Dayley and Mike Merriman. I train Gracie Barra under Jason Martin and 10th Planet under Sam Davis.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m a stand-up figher but as an MMA fighter I have a well-rounded game and am comfortable on the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
To fight the best in your division, i have never taken a “Safe” fight in my life. If you’re gonna call yourself the best you have to fight the best!

What weight do you fight at ?
I have fought 145, 135, and 125. I held the Bluegrass Brawl 135 title for almost a year now but recently cut down to 125 and im in the best shape of my life.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
K.O. Power. Flyweights are not usually known for knock out power, and i have 4 KO’s as an ammy.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
If you’re gonna dream, dream big! So I would say the UFC Flyweight Champ “Mighty Mouse” Demitrius Johnson.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve had some tough ones! But I would have to say that the Apex Flyweight Champ Devin Ward is the toughest opponent I’ve had.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To win and hopefully get a chance for that KO!

Who are you fighting next ?
That is tba at this point, I do know that im looking for a pro debut for Valor Fights at the end of this year or beginning of next. Gonna heal up a little and train a full fight camp for my first pro fight.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
What im known for now, and that is for being one of the most exciting fighter you’ll ever see!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
It’s hard to say, ive had a lot of different coaches, teammates, and influences along the way. I owe credit to every one of them for making me the fighter and man I am today.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I would have to say Dana White and his crew. They brought it from “bloodsport” to what it is today!!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am a Scientific Street Fighter(SSF)

What drives or motivates you ?
Just being the best that I can be, everytime i compete on any level.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be working in a Tattoo Shop somewhere.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I wake up the day of a fight hyped up lol. I am hyped at any fight so it’s probably just the environment. I love it!!!

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see MMA as the TOP sport and maybe even in the Olympics.

Who is your favorite fighter?
“Cowboy” Cerone. I like how he will fight anyone and often. I once fought 3 fights in 33 days and it was one of the best months of my life!!!!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
First of all thank you guys for the interview and helping spread the word on me. Most importantly i wanna thank my awesome sponsors Rendirse Fight Gear, SSF, Queen City Painting, Bearcatt Productions. Also gotta thank all my fans who support me and my teammates past and present for making me a BEAST!!!
BEWARE OF THE BEARCATT!!! PROS HERE WE COME!!!!

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from the Bearcatt click the link below and go check out his fan page and don’t forget to hit the like button

https://www.facebook.com/Bruce-Bearcatt-Duckett-228733080641190/

Leave a comment