Lion Fight Women’s Lightweight Champion “The Panther”Antonina Shevchenko

September 16th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Antonina Shevchenko
Nickname – The Panther
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 37 wins 1 loss
Team – Tiger Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
I am Russian and I was born in Kyrgyzstan. It’s a beautiful country in Central Asia, before it was part of Soviet Union. Now i live in Peru and have been there for over 8 years.

How long have you been training ?
I have been in martial arts since I was 7 years old, more than 20 years. My mother Elena Shevchenko is a black belt 3rd Dan of Taekwondo, and she is the president of Kyrgyzstan Muay Thai Federation, and she wanted her daughters to take the same path and she brought me and my sister Valentina to the gym of our coach Pavel Fedotov.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Traditionally nickname are given to a fighter by there coach.My nickname “Panther” was given to me by my coach Pavel before my first professional fight.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
All my childhood I grew up with the knowledge that I would be a professional fighter. I heard it from my mother, from my coach.When I became older I realized that to be a fighter was what I really wanted.

What is your current record ?
My professional record is 38 fights, 37 wins.

What is your favorite strike ?
I have several. High kicks, Superman punch, knees and elbows.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my coach Pavel Fedotov, I have trained with him for more than 20 years and he is the person who keeps pushing me forward day after day and Brings out the best qualities of me.

What team do you train with ?
I represent Tiger Muay Thai Gym (Thailand, Phuket), when I am in Thailand I train there.
When I am in USA I train in Gracie Barra Draculino Gym and Houston Muay Thai Gym.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being fighter for me is a broad concept. It includes not only the fight or training for the fight, but all aspects of life. It’s a life style and there is an infinite number of things that martial arts give us.

What weight do you fight at ?
135 lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My belt. I am the current Lion Fight women’s lightweight champion, and this is the thing that I will keep as hard as it is, and other fighters my opponents are trying to conquer.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I have many years in the sport. There were many champions in this period of time they were appearing and leaving, and others appearing and again leaving. I don’t have a specific name, I am ready to fight with anyone.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
All fights are tough, each in its own. There is no an easy fight. For every fight I prepare the same serious and very focused and for each of them I spend many hours in training gym.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
The main mindset is to do everything properly in the fight.

you are coming off a big win on September 2nd for Lion Fights can you tell us a little about the moments leading up to this fight ?
We trained very hard for this fight, with my coach Pavel Fedotov and my sister Valentina, who was my main sparring partner. The last part of our training camp we spent in Maine, doing many outdoor workouts. I am very happy to have defended my Lion Fight Title!

What where your thoughts on your opponent and your performance at Lion Fight 31
My opponent was strong, she is a good striker, experienced, has more than 40 professional fights. For the fight with her I built my game plan and my techniques to outplay her.

Whats next for The Panther when can we expect to see you in the lion fights ring again ?
I would like to fight again as soon as possible! I feel so much energy. And fortunately I finished my fight without injuries or cuts.
Now looking forward to some news from Lion Fight about my next title defense.

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponent’s during a fight ?
Any holes and any weaknesses. Muay Thai it’s a very complete martial art. There are so many techniques to use to counter.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I like to be a versatile fighter. My main style its Muay Thai. But also I competed a lot in olympic boxing and taekwondo. I try to apply the best techniques in Muay Thai. And I like that rules of Muay Thai allow me to do it. Because nowadays Muay Thai is the most complex martial art in standing. We could name it MMA in standing, without ground techniques.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My mother Elena Shevchenko and my coach Pavel Fedotov.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
From the point of view of inspiring millions of people, I think the biggest impact has come from fighters who acted in movies, Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Cynthia Rothrock, and of course modern fighters who are acting now. Also the biggest impact has come from all masters of martial arts who have created their own style and philosophy. Every coach who raises his own fighters and make them be better.
Every professional fighter who with his or her own fights inspire hundreds of young people to practice martial arts. Martial arts are a unified powerful body.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I try to fight in an offensive manner, try to fight diversely. But never forget about defense. I try to fight smart.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I can’t even imagine it.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
When I go to fight I think only about the fight.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
I like Benny “The Jet” Urquidez and Ramon Dekkers. Among female fighters my favorite fighter is my sister Valentina “The Bullet” Shevchenko. In Muay Thai she has applied all the best and beautiful techniques and she has reached all existing achievements in this sport. She is 17 times World Champion and she is a real Muay Thai queen, who has not lost in this sport in 12 years.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like shooting. I do practical shooting IDPA and IPSC, with pistols. And I even became national champion of Peru in IPSC shooting. Also I like cooking different national food, I like swimming and driving a car.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I am a 10 time World Champion.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
To love the sport they are doing, and make it their main life direction.

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
Muay Thai will conquer the world there are admirers of Muay Thai all over the world. I would like very much to see this sport in the Olympic Games, because it deserves this.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I like to fight, I like the fighting atmosphere, the drive in my life, travels given by sport, that is why I will try to keep competing as long as it is possible.
Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thanks to Lion Fight Promotions, to my team BulletKO, my managers Roger Allen and Pedro Caballero, my sponsor Amber sport gear. And all our friends who are supporting us!
Twitter: KO_Antonina
Facebook and Instagram: Antonina_Muaythai

 

Leave a comment