I Am “The Storm” Kelsey Skillman

kelsey5

January 24th 2017

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Kelsey Skillman
Nickname – The Storm
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 0 Wins 1 Loss
Team – One Hit MMA

 
Where are you from ?
Layton, Utah.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 3 years but I had a baby during that time frame. I trained every day while I was pregnant up until the day I had her but I obviously couldn’t have full contact or train super hard during that time.

How did you get in to Mixed Martial Arts ?
I grew up very over weight and really wanted to find something I enjoyed that would help me to lose some of the weight. I had never done anything MMA but had friends that were fighters, they said kickboxing was a good workout to lose weight and help you Tone up so I started at One Hit. After one class I was hooked 8 months in I had lost 48lbs and took my first fight! 🙂

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nick name is “The Storm” there is a quote that says “Fate whispers to the warrior You can not withstand the storm. The warrior whispers back I am The Storm” my grandpa has always told me I’m a fighter and not to fear the storm but to bring it. So “The storm” just stuck over the years.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I have loved fighting since the first class I did at One Hit but one day after training I got home and my 5 year old ran over and gave me a hug and said “I’m proud of you mommy. I know you train every day because fighting makes your heart happy.” I realized she’s right and since that I’ve given it 100% and never looked back.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in MMA ?
My mom and grandma HATE that I fight but everyone else has always been really supportive. My girls love it and are my biggest fans and my grandpa is always front and center and that’s all I need to keep going.

What is your current record ?
0-1 in MMA

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Arm triangle.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach, Aldo Oreggia.

What team do you train with ?
One Hit MMA. They aren’t just my team, they’re my family.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground when you step in the cage ?
I like both. Depending on what I’m feeling I’ll take it either way.

kelsey7

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means everything to me. Fighting found me in the darkest time of my life and has gotten me through more than most people know. When something saves your life isn’t just what you do anymore… it’s who are.

What weight do you fight at ?
135 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My mentality and heart.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Alexa Grasso I’m obsessed with her.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Britney Theide.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To stay calm and do my thing. My coaches give me everything I need before the fight then it’s my time to put it all to work.

Who are you fighting next ?
Jen Gleed.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can take advantage of when you step in the cage with her ?
I think Jen will bring her A game, this is her debut fight so I don’t know much about her style but looking forward to bang with her.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Steel Fist.

Date and time of your next fight ?
April 15th at 6pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
My love and passion for this sport.

kelsey2

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach, Aldo Oreggia.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
For women’s MMA Ronda Rousey. No matter what anyone says about her she blazed the trail for all of us upcoming females in MMA.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Steady and smooth.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My girls are my motivation. I want to make them proud but more so I want to be the example they deserve to have. I want them to know drive and passion and that all your dreams are achievable no matter the circumstances.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know about me… I was suicidal and fighting extreme depression when I walked into One Hit. When I say fighting saved me I truly mean that, and not just the sport itself but the people who came with it. My team is my family, without their love and support I wouldn’t be where I am today.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I honestly don’t know where or who I would be.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
Knowing that I have two little girls at home that believe in me more than I could ever believe in myself… not quitting and giving it my all is my only option.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
I call my girls tell them I love them, listen to my walk out song a couple of times, and say a prayer.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
This is f***in awesome!! Hahaha it’s so surreal, I get amped up and just want to get in there.

kelsey4

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Alexa Grasso and Conner McGregor.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Hang out with my girls, make blanket forts or kill it in the karaoke machine!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Getting in the cage! NO ONE knows what it take physically, mentally, or emotionally unless they have done it themselves!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Being taken seriously. And maybe finding opponents…. there is a lot less women in the sport so sometimes it’s hard to get matched up.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Never give up if this is really want you want. You’ll cry, you’ll hate training, you’ll feel inadequate but even on your worst days you get a little better, a little stronger. As long as your whole heart is in it you’re winning.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I think it will get just as big as men’s MMA. Girls are starting younger and younger and there is definitely more girls getting involved.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Fighting professionally in bigger shows.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To be the best fighter I possibly can and leave it all in the cage. Getting to the UFC is every fighters goal I’m sure but when I’m done I just want to satisfied with the work I put in and the journey I take with MMA.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to give a shout out to my sponsors Ashby plastic surgery, BD catering, Built by battle, and Dave’s mobile wash. And to my coach, Aldo Oreggia- without you I wouldn’t be me. Thank you for believing in me even when I don’t believe in myself. I don’t think you’ll ever know how much you and your gym changed my life. Love ya coach!

kelsey6

Leave a comment